DO Not, I repeat DO NOT speed without fairings!!

busabrother

Registered
Went for a ride today without fairings. Really planned on just chilling. But I started riding with a zx 636, old school zx 6 and a gsxr 6. So i had to represent and show them the reason i ride in theback is becasue i want to be in the back. Well during one of my short bursts on the freeway to about 140-150 I started getting quite a bit of shaking going on. I figured i would but damn. So to test if it was just windy or bad aerodynamics i hit it a few more times. I'm pretty sure it was the "new" aerodynamics. Its cool to cruise, but i would stay away from ballin!! Learn from my experience.

Oh by the way. Its amazing to me that all of those guys on their 6's would start tucking at 110-120. I stay up till i start hitting 150-160 So when i zip past them they think WTF!!! We're tucking and this dude is sitting straight up like WHAT??!
cool.gif

I am not sure either, but for anyone who remembers I just recently had a hole in my right fairing, I had taken it to about 150 a few times before I punched the 4 inch hole in the side, I rode it a few times with the hole in the fairing, a couple of times I took it to about 130, and I swear it did not feel right, same thing as you were saying busabrother, it felt like it was shaking.... I am still not sure if it was the hole, but when it happened the first thing that came to mind was "crap!! I wonder if that hole is causing this"

and since I replaced the fairing last week, no more problems, glides like it used to..

Not sure if it was my imagination or not... but it sure didn't feel right

sounds like the aeros of this machine are very sensitive to holes and alterations made to it.

yep....ya gotta be careful doods. 3 years in the wind tunnel aren't just for fun. On the other side, though, I've been up to about 130, 135 and I have frame sliders on.

Gotta tell ya...smooth as my nads after I shave 'em....
wow.gif