Independent mechanics

OB_Big Ed

Registered
I have had the same problems with my dealer that many of you have. It’s not that thy are totally incompetent but I don’t get the feeling that thy really give a s h I t weather the job is done completely write. I used to turn a wrench part time about 20 year ago, so I know what can go on in a dealer’s shop. I do a lot of my own work still but not all of it. There are some things I just don’t feel comfortable doing my self; I’m not a professional. I have found an independent mechanic who really seems to care about what he dose. Dos anyone see a problem using the independent guy over the dealer? I trust this guy because he seems so interested in his work and he’s been at it for almost 30 years.

Big Ed; go for it you will still have to have warranty work done by a dealer. Word of caution, document,document,document all work parts and mileage.And I always use a oem filter for oil.

If you're as lucky as I used to be, your older brother is a full-up pro bike wrench. I used to go whining to him with my wrenching problems all the time, and he always obliged. Sucks for me that we live a thousand miles apart now. I'll never be even with him for favors if you count bike maintenance, not in this lifetime. An independent you can really trust is extremely valuable...not a replacement for a dealership, but a great alternative.