oil change

Blue1

Registered
I need some quick insight here.

First let me say I am a reasonably skilled amateur mechanic. I have a ZRX1200 Kawasaki and the only thing the dealer does is mount new tires on my wheels. I flush and rebuild all hydraulic systems on the bike, adjust valves, synchronize carbs (remember them?), flush coolant and bleed the coolant system. The Kawasaki factory manual is excellent.

I look at the Suzuki factory manual and realize why I didn't do all these services on my '83 GS1100E: because the manual absolutely sucks.

I made plans on spending the evening doing my first service oil and filter change. I break out the manual and nowhere does it say what body panels need to be removed. I figure that the illustration shows the brake side lower panel removed, so I go to the chassis section and, correct me if I'm wrong, but it appears that to remove the lower brake side fairing section, the upper sections must be removed. To do that, it appears the windscreen needs to be removed. To do that, the black vinyl trim between the gas tank and the fairing edge needs to be removed, and possibly so does the lower fairing underneath the bike.

Someone please tell me that I didn't just buy the maintenance bike from hell. Is there a short cut to accessing the oil filter or does the bike have to be completely stripped of the entire fairing, windscreen and trim?

I hope someone that knows can respond quickly so if there is a shortcut, I can finish this (what should be a thirty minute) job tonight.

Thanks,
Blue1

you just need to remove the brake side lower. that will also include the inner panel that is attached to it.

standing in front of and looking at the bike it will be on your left hand side
beerchug.gif