Tensioner changeout experience

OB_Velociraptor

Registered
Installed my APE manual tensioner this morning. I have a shop manual and reasonable mechanical ability but I am not an expert wrench so I thought my experience might be interesting. I started by printing out the very good intructions posted on this site which involved pulling the valve cover and checking the cam timing. As per the manual, in order to totally remove the valve cover from the engine you have to pull the throttle bodies. I chose not to do this. I removed the valve covers just enough to check the exhaust cam timing and have a look at the cam chain links between the two cam sprockets. My cam chain timing seemed fine which was no surprise since my bike is running fine. I also marked the exhaust cam sproket and cam chain alignment with a magic marker. These marks lined up every 4th revolution of the crank I think. I am at work now so I don't remember exactly. That done I removed the automatic tensioner(which extends full out as it is removed so there is no way to know how much it was extended in the motor). As written in the instuctions from this site, I finger tightened the manual tensionser. While finger tightening the tensioner I initially found some minor resistence to turning but this seemed to give way pretty easily then I finally felt I had hit someting solid and it got very hard to turn. I imagine that this was when I started putting tension on the cam chain. I backed off just a little-maybe 1/8th of a turn. I then rechecked the cam timing and everything was the same. I then put things back together enough to get the engine running-valve cover back on,airbox on, etc, and started the motor. I didn't hear any ratcheting noises so I very slowly loosened the tensioner. This got a little tricky for me because you have to know what you are trying to hear. I heard some very faint ratcheting but almost more useful to me was to keep my fingers in the tension bolt and feel what was coming through the