Car problems

Fastfrog007

Donating Member
Registered
Okay, I know threads like this can be pain, but well, here it goes. My GF's car wont start. 96 mustang V6 auto,110k, Yeah, its FAST:laugh: anyway, turn the key, a click from under the hood and thats it. After the click the radio and dash lights go out. I tried to jump it just to check the battery, same thing happened. I have a few ideas, but im no mechanic by any means. I can bolt things on and off, but diagnostics is not my area. Any good ideas?
Thanks guys/gals.
You can kinda, sorta see it in the background. Pics always help get what ya want here on the Org:whistle:

SANY0879.jpg

Kaw pic = ban and thread deletion lol.

Sounds like a dead battery. Make sure you were gettin a good connection on the jumpers or check the battery at the parts house or with a meter.

Next look at the key next to where the ring loop goes and there should be a chip in there. If there's a hole it fell out.
Posted via Mobile Device

Check all the wiring connections on the starter solenoid check for loseness and corrosion. If that is solid, try getting a small hammer and tap around the solenoid and attempt to start with the jumper cable connected. Its a good possibility that your starter solenoid is not kicking-in for the starter to engage. That's a nice 05' Titanium by the way!

My bad on the key not sure if they're the same from 96 as 99-04 but i think they are.
Posted via Mobile Device

id say battery,if it gets low enough it will freeze and no amount of boosting will start it.can you remove battery and take in house over night then in AM put a charger on it to see if it will take a charge.dont try to charge it right away,you will boil the battery.needs to be at room temp. you need to start there before any other possability of trouble shooting can be done.if you dont have a charger take it to a autozone or a place like that,they can usually do battery load test for free.hope this helps :beerchug: