How to do burnouts on the Busa ?

G

Look I'm really not a hooligan, but sometimes my British DNA just takes over and I just have to do these things. I have NEVER done a burnout on a bike before, never felt the need. But tomorrow I get a new chain fitted $300+ and a new rear tyre $350+ (they like to penalize big bikes here!) So I'm a little peeved at the expense, especially as I read about your sub $200 tyres ! So tonight I want to abuse this old chain and tyre, any advice.

FYI At 190lbs I'm a little heavy and at 5'8" just a tad short. I cannot place both feet flat on the ground at the same time. Sad isn't it ! :) :)

Dazee...all those wheelies and no burnouts?

Practise on hard packed dirt if you can. Stand on your toes to get 90% of the weight off your bike but stay planted with your butt and thighs in contact with the seat to control sideways movement of the bike while the tire's spinning.

Hold the front brake with two fingers and just do a medium hard launch. Rev up and engage the clutch simultaneously and firmly until the tire breaks loose, then let out the clutch and run the rear tire at whatever speed you want.

At lot of people think you have to pop the clutch to break the tire loose...not so. Just think in terms of a medium hard launch, except you hold the front brake on.

For the first few times, stop your burnout by pulling in the clutch and cutting the gas simultaneously while still holding the front brake. When you're more comfortable, you can just release the front brake and move into a rolling burnout.

As Yngve would say, "Easy Peasy..."

Dazee, as soon as you have done a couple of good burnouts I suggest a doughnut as burnouts are a little boring and tend to dig holes in the road/car park surface.