New Rider

OB_IXLR8

Registered
Hi everyone! I'm just getting started in motorcycling (still have to take the safety course), and I was wondering if the 1300R would be too powerful for a beginning rider.

I've heard that it is really stable, and that would make me feel (mentally) more confident while on the bike. I'm 5' 8'' and 160 pounds; will it be too big for me?

My big fear is that the bike will wheelie and flip over if I accidentally apply too much throttle. Really great things have been said about this bike, and I'd love to join in on the fun. I'd like to hear some opinions from you guys and girls out there. Thanks!

Yes,Yes,Yes.....................................................................................

The 1300 is way way too much bike for a new beginner regardless or height and weight.

It is a matter of experience. You need to build up to this level. The rider safty course is great for learning the basics and providing the fundemental tools, but there is no substitute for experience. Ask the other guys on the board how many of them have never had an accident, and I am sure you will see the only ones that answer are the ones that started last week. Fact is, you will crash. Do you want to do it on a 1300 at 170mph or on a nice learner bike at lower speeds.

The Hayabusa is a very civilized and forgiving bike, but a new rider could easily cross the line with her and then she will bite you.

I am sure most of the guys out there will tell you about how many years they rode on how many different bikes before they bought a busa. That is the way it is suppose to be. If you are a quick learner, and spend the thousands of hours yearly on a learner bike, you could possibly feel ready for a 1300 in a reasonable amount of time, and still be around to make the transition.